What Happens to an Author’s Home During Book Promotion

Standard

Okay, so maybe I'm exagerating a little...

My house is a disaster. My house is like Grey Gardens right now. I’ve been so busy writing, editing, promoting, networking, blah-blah-blahing the past few months that I think the spiders and dust bunnies have created an army large enough to completely displace the humans in the house.

And don’t even get me started on my laundry pile.

The sad thing is, it’s not as though I don’t actually have time to clean–I mean, what would it take? It’s not like a live in a mansion. I have a small home and I can clean it pretty thoroughly in about 3 hours. I believe I could find 3 hours in a day, somewhere, to fit that in.

If I wanted to.

So now, my book has also become the perfect excuse not to clean. And that makes being an author even more kickass! Until the house actually does start to look like Grey Gardens…maybe then I’ll find the time. Maybe.

Or maybe I’ll just move.

*Thanks to The 21st Century Mrs. for the picture.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

